Accessibility Tools

Weston Favell Primary School

ceop logo

Religious Education


Through our RE curriculum, children are equipped to be lifelong learners and live respectfully alongside people of differing faiths and no faith, celebrating difference.

Through our RE curriculum, we intend children to:

  • Have knowledge and understanding of the six main religions (Christianity, Islam, Buddhism, Judaism, Hinduism and Sikhism).
  • Develop a rich, deep knowledge and understanding of religious beliefs and practices.
  • Respect other cultures and religions and world views, expressing the importance of respecting the beliefs of others.
  • Respectfully understand, challenge and accept differing viewpoints.
  • Think wisely and reflect critically and responsibly on their own responses to particular situations so that they can flourish.
  • Confidently and articulately share their views and know that they will be respected and valued.
  • Ask and answer questions and search to understand faith and religion in a purposeful and meaningful way, appropriate to their level of understanding.
  • Actively reflect, investigate and make meaning of relationships, the world and religion.
  • Secure self-awareness, respect for all, open-mindedness, empathy, appreciation and wonder.
  • Use their knowledge and shared viewpoints to discuss local, national and global issues.
  • Understand the diversity of world views and belief systems.
  • Hold a greater understanding of their place in the world.


RE is taught through the following high-dividend concepts:

  • Belief
  • Worship
  • Festivals
  • Community
  • Salvation
  • Incarnation


By the end of Key Stage 2, children will have acquired knowledge of the main religions and world views.  They will be confident and respectful when voicing their opinions and be courageous and caring advocates for others, looking after the world they live in.