Accessibility Tools

Weston Favell Primary School

ceop logo



Through our Computing curriculum, the children of WFPS will leave with the skills, creativity and resolve they need to thrive in an increasingly technology dependent future. We believe that a confident computational thinker can investigate a wide range of real-world problems, design and develop solutions and critique the ideas of others. Computing lessons at our school help children to develop a growth mindset, ensure they feel empowered by their knowledge and encourage them to approach and enjoy challenges. Computing expertise opens up a wealth of knowledge and opportunities to young people, so our curriculum ensures children: understand the importance of using the internet in a safe and respectful way, know the necessary precautions to take in order to stay safe online, build their resilience ensuring positive mental well-being and are clear where to find help when something worries them in the online or offline world. 


At Weston Favell Primary School, we teach computing through alternating discrete and embedded units. We have worked alongside the expertise of the Denbigh School Computing Hub to develop our computing curriculum; therefore our discrete sessions are taught through the Teach Computing Curriculum, which is aligned to match the scope and ambition of the National Curriculum. At Weston Favell Primary School, we adapt the curriculum to ensure that it meets the needs of our children and our community.

Our embedded curriculum enables computing skills to be applied through other areas of the curriculum. For example, Year 3 create animations linking to their learning about the Romans in History.

The Computing Curriculum is sequenced coherently to ensure that substantive and disciplinary knowledge builds through six distinct strands which are:

  1. Creating Media
  2. Programming
  3. Computing Systems and Networks
  4. Data and Information
  5. Creating Media
  6. Programming

... online behaviours underpin each strand

Our Core Computing Curriculum covers 10 main areas of study:

  1. Networks
  2. Creating Media
  3. Data & Information
  4. Design & Development
  5. Computing Systems
  6. Impact of Technology
  7. Algorithms
  8. Programming
  9. Effective Use of tools
  10. Safety & Security

Online Safety

We specifically teach online safety and develop children’s critical thinking and online behaviours through monthly topics taken from Project EVOLVE. This resources each of the 330 statements from the UK Council for Internet Safety’s Framework (UKCIS): ‘Education for a Connected World.” The following areas are covered through this framework:

  1. Self-Image and Identity
  2. Online Relationships
  3. Online Reputation
  4. Online Bullying
  5. Managing Online Information
  6. Health, Wellbeing and Lifestyle
  7. Privacy and Security
  8. Copyright and Ownership

These areas are also taught discretely as part of initiatives such as’ Safer Internet Day’ and through our RSE curriculum.

Computing Documents